Dänischer Major der Kavallerie 1700

• Dear German friends
    I don't know if this is the right place for this message,but I arrived to a dead end.
    About my ancestor I know : Johann Friedrich Struve was "Königl.Dänischer Major der Kavallerie" in Glückstadt.His daughter was born in Glückstad in 1715.
    Later she married Andreas Rötger,"Justizrath" in Glückstadt.
    I don't know if Struve was born in Glückstadt .
    Where are the Danish militar archivs? I would like to know something about this Struve family.I know that he was also Erbherr auf Mellen,but I don't know
    which place is this.
    Thank you so much for your help.
    Ligia

• Hi Ligia,

here are some points I'd like to mention about your question, despite of the fact that I'm not an expert for military history at all (but have read some good books about this :D ):

- the time period being interesting for you is some kind of difficult because of the Nordic War (1700-1721), that took place too in the Glückstadt region, so there was a lot of troop movement in these years

- Struve is a wide spreaden name in Holstein, so that makes it difficult too, to locate his roots or destinations (by the way, I don't know anything about a place "Mellen")

- as you wrote, J.F. Struve was "Major der Kavallerie in Glückstadt". But there are no cavalry-regiments stationed in Glückstadt at that time: at 1699/1700 it seems, there were only two infantery regiments in Glückstadt (Leibregiment der Königin (queens regiment) and parts of the "Regiment Prinz Karl zu Fuß" ), just one of the four existing royal danish cavalry regiments in Holstein was stationed nearby, the "Leibregiment Dragoner" in Pinneberg and Uetersen, so maybe this could be the right one